Låpsley Q&A

Låpsley is an emerging electronic producer based in Liverpool. Over the last six months she has uploaded a string of tracks to soundcloud, some of which have gained over 200,000 plays , had an Amazing Radio chart No.1 and is gaining more and more industry support by the day. We caught up with her to find out how it all started and what the future holds.

How long have you been making music?

I’ve been making and writing music since I was about 12, experimented with different genres and styles over the years. I usually write my songs originally on either guitar or piano.

Where do you produce your tracks?

I produce everything in my bedroom with a mic and a roland juno gi. I also have logic but prefer to use garage band (the pitch shifter on there is incred).

Who are your musical influences?Lapsley Station

Growing up my influences were mainly from what my parents played around the house.. Kate Bush, Depeche Mode, Fatboy Slim and Joy Division. At the moment I’m into FKA Twigs, James Blake, Oceaan, Jamie XX and Toro Y Moi.

What do you think about the media attention you have been getting recently?

It doesn’t really bother me, I don’t make the music intentionally for other people to like or with an audience in mind to be honest, so its all a bonus and quite strange.

What’s been the highlight of your music career so far?

I didn’t even realise I had a music career until now, its still early days, I feel I’m yet to prove Låpsley and demonstrate all my ideas.

Do you have anything exciting planned for 2014?

Bringing out an EP in the summer and I’m also playing at Kendal Calling and Tramlines Festival, I love playing live.

Any advice for young producers looking to make a name for themselves?

Don’t shape your music to an audience, make what the hell you want and what you feel is the best of your ability and something that showcases your ideas. Don’t confine yourself to a genre, I think labelling yourself restricts yourself.

To here more of Låpsley click here

2 thoughts on “Låpsley Q&A

  1. Pingback: One track a day 29/03/14 | Through The Wire Music

  2. Pingback: Låpsley – Falling Short (One track a day 29/09/14) | Through The Wire Music

Leave a comment